The Caldes de Montbui parking lot, built by Sorigué, receives the 2019 BBConstrumat award

Go to press room Go to News

The Caldes de Montbui parking lot, built by Sorigué, receives the 2019 BBConstrumat award

May 17, 2019

The Centre-El Sindicat parking lot located in this Catalan town has received the award in the Infrastructure category at the 18th edition of the Barcelona Building Construmat Awards.

The parking and land planning work at Plaza del Sindicato square in Caldes de Montbui, executed by the Construction area of Sorigué, has been awarded the 2019 Barcelona Building Construmat award in the Infrastructure category.

According to the jury, this project has received first prize for “understanding that any small infrastructure transforms its environment". According to the verdict, the work "integrates the roof with the adjoining orchards, makes it accessible and plays with local materials for the different structures, opening the door to adapt the space to new future needs".

The work, carried out between September 2017 and January 2019, consisted of the construction of a two-story underground parking lot in the surroundings of the Church of Santa Maria de Caldes de Montbui and the subsequent land planning of Plaza del Sindicato square in the town.

The La Borda housing cooperative , an official social housing block built in the former factory site of Can Batlló of Barcelona, received an award in the Architecture category.

As for Project/Service, the Association for the Construction of Metal Structures (ASCEM) was recognized as part of its Progress initiative in the field of the circular economy. In the field of Product/Material, the SUDS systems by Trencadís de Sempre received recognition for their flooring manufactured from reused ceramic.

The 18th edition of the Barcelona Building Awards was held on Wednesday 15th at a ceremony in the Roca Gallery space in Barcelona, presented by the Chairwoman of Sorigué and BBConstrumat, Ana Vallés.

The awards were curated by the Mies van der Rohe Foundation for the second edition and the jury consisted of the architects Elena Orteu, David Basulto, Izaskun Chinchilla and José María Marzo and the engineer Rosa Grima, who have granted awards to projects that are in line with this year's proposed trade show, focused on promoting sustainability and the circular economy to minimize environmental impact.